Test Administration

Many states already administer some or all of their statewide assessments by computer. The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium is learning from the experiences of member states and is committed to ensuring a successful transition to new assessments in the 2014-15 school year.


Support for Implementation

To support a seamless implementation of the new assessment system, the Consortium will:

  • Conduct pilot tests of the assessment system in 2013 and 2014 that will involve educators in shaping the assessment system design to meet the needs of students and teachers.
  • Collaborate with the Partnership for Assessments of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) to develop a technology readiness tool that will allow states to estimate future information technology needs.
  • Make available a paper-and-pencil version of the summative assessment during a three-year transition period.
  • Convene teams of educators from each member state for professional development and training.
  • Provide a 12-week window at the end of the school year to administer the summative assessment, which reduces pressure on school information technology resources.

Sustainability Task Force

There are still many decisions to be made about test administration. Smarter Balanced has convened a Sustainability Task Force to provide recommendations regarding how states will procure, administer, and maintain the assessment system after the federal grant ends in October 2014. These recommendations will provide states with a budget and procurement roadmap to prepare for the 2014 administration of the assessment system.

The 13-member task force includes the following representatives:

    • State chief who serves as co-facilitator with the chief operating officer (1)
    • State chiefs to serve as task force members at large (2)
    • Governors/aides (2)
    • State leads (2)
    • State procurement experts (2)
    • State central information officers (2)
    • Higher education representatives (2)

The task force members will also include the chief operating officer (co-facilitator), executive director, and one Executive Committee co-chair.

back to top