Executive Committee

The Smarter Balanced Executive Committee oversees the development of the assessment system and management of the Consortium’s funding. The Executive Committee is comprised of two co-chairs, four representatives from four separate Governing States, one representative from the Lead Procurement State (Washington), and two representatives from higher education. Executive Committee members and co-chairs are elected by the Governing States.



Joseph Martineau, Ph.D.

Executive Director
Bureau of Assessment and Accountability
Michigan Department of Education

Deborah Sigman

Deputy Superintendent
District, School & Innovation Branch
California Department of Education


Executive Committee Members

Juan D’Brot

Executive Director
Office of Assessment and Accountability
West Virginia Department of Education

Michael Hock, Ph.D.

Assessment Director
Vermont Department of Education

Charles Lenth, Ph.D.

(Higher Education Representative)
Vice President for Policy Analysis and Academic Affairs
State Higher Education Executive Officers

Mike Middleton

Director of Assessment Business and Special Populations
Washington State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Patricia Reiss, Ph.D.

Test Development Specialist
Hawaii State Department of Education

Luci Willits

Chief of Staff
Idaho Department of Education

Beverly L. Young, Ph.D.

(Higher Education Representative)
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs
California State University System


Executive Committee Minutes

back to top